united states coast guard

07 SEP 18

ALCGPSC 112/18
A. Reserve Policy Manual, COMDTINST M1001.28 (series)
1. The Commandant has approved the report of the Commander Retention Board
convened on 16 July 2018 which recommended the following commanders on
the Inactive Duty Promotion List (IDPL) for retention in an active status.
Officers selected for retention are listed below in precedence order.
NO Rank Name                         Unit
1 CDR Settle III, John R.         DOL-4
2 CDR Jones, Gretchen A.         DDE-CORIVRON 10
3 CDR Morris, Paul G.                 SEC CORPUS CHR CMD CADRE
4 CDR StJeanos, Michael N.         SEC BOSTON CMD CADRE
5 CDR Kallgren, Maureen R.         SEC HAMPTON RD CMD CADRE
6 CDR Ruwe, Michael E.                CGRU USNORTHCOM
7 CDR Martenson, Eric D.         D17 PLNG & FORCE RDNS DIV (DX)
8 CDR Wennet, Craig L.         COMMANDANT (CG-9336)
9 CDR Freymuth, Mark A.         SEC COL RIVER CMD CADRE
10 CDR Grassley, Laila M.              PORT SECURITY UNIT 311
11 CDR Hotchkiss, James R.         DDE-NMCC PENTAGON WASH DC
12 CDR Johnson, James J.         SEC SE NEW ENG CMD CADRE
13 CDR Trego, Kirsten R.           SEC DEL BAY CMD CADRE
14 CDR Devereaux, Marc C.         SEC MARYLAND-NCR CMD CADRE
15 CDR Rosello, Brad J.          SEC LAKE MICH CMD CADRE
16 CDR Vaughn, Michael R.         BASE MIAMI BEACH
17 CDR Kuck, Jeffrey W.                BASE NATIONAL CAPITAL REGION
18 CDR Conklin, Jennifer J.         SEC HONOLULU CMD CADRE
19 CDR Mack, Bruce G.                  SEC LA/LB CMD CADRE
20 CDR Lavery, Kevin P.          SEC SAN FRAN CMD CADRE
21 CDR Wilcox, Charles E.         DDE-CORIVRON 8
22 CDR Murphy, Natalie M.         SEC MIAMI CMD CADRE
23 CDR Hansen, Karl A.                 DDE-CORIVRON 1
24 CDR Ruocco, Gennaro A.         SEC PUGET SND CMD CADRE
25 CDR Platt-Moser, Sara S.            PACAREA (35)
26 CDR Guedry, Kimberly K.         CGRU USSOUTHCOM
27 CDR Jones, Becky K.           D13 PLNG & FORCE RDNS DIV (DX)
28 CDR Bisang, Robert A.         CGRU USNORTHCOM
29 CDR Wolland, Scott H.         SEC CHARLESTON CMD CADRE
30 CDR Duncan, Gregory A.        D11 PLNG & FORCE RDNS DIV (DX)
31 CDR Petrarca, Patrick H.         LANTAREA (35)
32 CDR Rooney, Paul J.                 D1 INCIDENT MGMT BR (DRM)
33 CDR Von Damm, David C.         SEC ANCHORAGE CMD CADRE
34 CDR Silverman-Wise, Nan O.         PSU 308 COMMAND STAFF
35 CDR Kintz, William J.          CG CYBER COMMAND
36 CDR Engel, Jeffrey L.         D13 PLNG & FORCE RDNS DIV (DX)
37 CDR Kite, Neal P.             CGRU JTRU US TRANSCOM
38 CDR Richardson, Kevin L.            DDE-NMCC PENTAGON WASH DC
39 CDR Reiman, Aaron W.                BASE LOS ANGELES LONG BEACH
40 CDR Heron, Josephine K.         DDE-CGRU JOINT STAFF SOUTH
41 CDR Detemple, Clifford J.         CGRU JTRU US TRANSCOM
42 CDR Tanko, Daron J.                 D9 INCIDENT MGMT BR (DRM)
43 CDR Dimitry, Kenneth E.         LANTAREA (39)
44 CDR O'Halloran, Christopher P.      SEC OHIO VAL CMD CADRE
45 CDR Knight Jr, Richard A.         SEC SE NEW ENG CP/RDNS STF
46 CDR Kalisz, Thomas W.         SILC ESD FACILITIES MGMT BR
47 CDR Garland, James S.         D14 INCIDENT MGMT BR (DRM)
48 CDR Wallace, Kevin D.          DOL-4
49 CDR Moyer, Justin T.                CGRU USSOUTHCOM
50 CDR Wallace, Aaron P.         PSU 301 COMMAND STAFF
51 CDR Hellberg, Karl B.         PSU 307 COMMAND STAFF
52 CDR Inagaki, Byron T.         SEC HOU/GAL CMD CADRE
53 CDR Greenbauer Jr, Richard T. D11 INCIDENT MGMT BR (DRM)
54 CDR Moore Jr, Bryan R.         DDE-PENTAGON WASHINGTON DC
55 CDR Sekeroglou, Georgios            NMN LANTAREA (35)
56 CDR Cullen II, James K.         DDE-CORIVGRU 2
57 CDR Angelle, Jared P.         D8 PLNG & FORCE RDNS DIV (DX)
58 CDR Rojas, Oscar H.                 SEC HONOLULU ENFORCEMENT DIV
59 CDR Summers IV, John C.         DDE-CORIVGRU 2
60 CDR Reed, Teddy                     DEES SECTOR HOUSTON/GALVESTON
61 CDR Boze, Todd P.                 PORT SECURITY UNIT 313
62 CDR Hodzic, Christine L.         D9 LEGAL STAFF (DL)
63 CDR Blythe, Oscar D.           D8 PLNG & FORCE RDNS DIV (DX)
64 CDR Stanley, Michael S.         MSU HUNTINGTON
65 CDR Penswater, Alessandra C.        SEC DEL BAY LOGISTICS DEPT
2. Officer retention boards review only officers records and any communications
sent directly from candidates to the board. The board is also given a roster of
eligible candidates listed in alphabetical order. Above and in-zone officer
rosters are combined, so that the status of the candidates is not discernible.
Only the officer portion of a record is viewable by the board.
3. Selection statistics for this board are provided below. There are many
variables, e.g., changes in performance, group size, approved voluntary
separations, etc., that will cause retention rates to fluctuate from
year to year among groups. Documented, sustained, high performance is
the best way to remain competitive for retention.
Approved voluntary separation requests appearing before this board: 4
4. Selection rates by gender:
   a. Female (13/20 - 65%)
   b. Male (52/74 - 70%)
5. Selection rates by race category:
   a. Asian (0/0)
   b. Black or African American (2/4 - 50%)
   c. Multiple Race (2/3 - 67%)
   d. Native American/Alaskan Native (1/2 - 50%)
   e. Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (0/0)
   f. White (49/70 - 70%)
   g. Declined to Respond (11/15 - 73%)
6. Selection rates by ethnic group:
   a. Hispanic (3/4 - 75%)
   b. Non-Hispanic (51/73 - 70%)
   c. Declined to Respond (11/17 - 65%)
7. The Board's membership and units are:
Name                                  Unit
RDML James M. Kelly, USCGR – President   CG COMDT (CG-DCO)
CAPT Julia A. Hein, USCGR – Member  LANTAREA (01)
CAPT Christopher S. Keane, USCG – Member  COMDT (CG-741)
CAPT Andrew T. Grenier, USCGR – Member   CGRU USPACOM
CAPT Steven J. Hill, USCGR – Member   D8 FORCE READINESS
CAPT Miriam L. Lafferty, USCGR – Member  D7 CMD CADRE (D)
8. The precept which convened this board and charged the members with
their duties and the Commandant's Guidance for Promotion Year 2019
Selection Boards and Panels are available via the PSC-RPM internet site,
9. Proceedings of the retention board, including its deliberations and criteria
for retention, cannot be disclosed to any person who was not a member of the board.
If there are any questions regarding the board process, contact LT Josh Denney,
Boards and Panels Section Chief at 202-795-6509 or email:
If there are any questions about the board results, contact CAPT Michael Wampler
at 202-795-6499.
10. Released by: CAPT G. T. Prestidge, Commander, Personnel Service Center.
The Service Center for Our Most Important Resource - Our People.
11. Internet release authorized.