united states coast guard


R 151450 AUG 17
UNCLAS //N01738//
ALCOAST 243/17
1. President Lyndon Johnson established the White House Fellows
Program in 1964 to offer opportunities to gifted and highly
motivated young Americans to experience, first hand, governance
at the highest levels. The White House Fellows Program seeks talented
individuals from all sectors of our national life - private industry,
academia, medicine, military, law, the arts, and state and local
government. Civilian federal government employees are not eligible.
The White House selects 11-19 Fellows each year through a national
competition process.
2. Fellows serve for one year as special assistants to high ranking
officials of the executive branch, including cabinet secretaries and
senior members of the Executive Office of the President. Fellows also
participate in an extensive mandatory education program that augments
and enhances the work placement experience by providing weekly
speaker seminars, monthly community service engagements, and policy
trips to study various issues.
3. Fellows are chosen based on substantial records of professional,
educational, and public service accomplishment as well as
demonstrated promise to serve in more senior capacities in the
future. Military Fellows have typically been in the ranks O-3 to O-5,
hold a Bachelors and at least one graduate degree, and serve in
leadership roles in professional and community service organizations.
Bios of most recent White House Fellows are available at
4. District Commanders and Commanding Officers should identify
eligible and high performing Coast Guard military officers and
enlisted members and personally encourage them to apply for this
5. Nine Coast Guard officers have been selected to serve as White
House Fellows since program inception and five of them are still on
active duty. LT Linden Dahlkemper is a member of the 2016-2017 WHF
class and served in the General Services Administration. LT LaShanda
Holmes is a member of the 2015-2016 WHF class and served in the
Office of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
administrator. CDR Kate Higgins-Bloom is a member of the 2014-2015
WHF class and served in the Office of the First Lady. CDR Anne
OConnell is a member of the 2012-2013 WHF class and served on the
Domestic Policy Council. CAPT Holly Harrison is a member of
the 2010-2011 WHF class and served in the Office of the NASA
administrator. LCDR (USCGR) Clay Pell is a member of the 2011-2012
WHF class and served in the U.S. Department of Education. CAPT (ret)
Jonathan Spaner is a member of the 2002-2003 WHF class and served on
the White House Homeland Security Council Staff.
6. An informational session for interested applicants will be held
Tuesday, 26 SEP 2017 from 1400-1530 ET at Coast Guard Headquarters
Room 7N15-01. Telephone call-in number will be provided to facilitate
remote participation. CAPT Harrison, CDR Higgins-Bloom and other WHF
alumni will discuss the application process, their fellowship
experiences and answer questions. If you are interested in
participating, contact the COMDT (CG-0921) POC listed in para 10.
7. The application process is managed entirely by the White House.
The Coast Guard plays no role in selecting candidates, therefore
Coast Guard applicants should not send applications via the chain of
command. However, individuals should inform COMDT (CG-0921) if they
intend to apply to the program. See POC information in para 10.
8. Application forms and all related information are accessible via
the White House Fellows website: Although the
2018-2019 schedule has not yet been announced, typically the online
application is available early NOV 2017 and must be submitted with
all supporting documents by early JAN 2018. The fellowship year
usually runs approximately 23 AUG to 23 AUG inclusive.
9. COMDT (CG-0921) will sponsor applicants selected by the White
House Fellows Office for interviews. Individuals selected as Fellows
will work with CG Personnel Command to coordinate PCS transfer
10. Direct additional questions to Michele Zauche at COMDT (CG-0921),
email: michele.r.zauche(at)
11. Rear Admiral Peter W. Gautier, Director, Governmental and Public
Affairs, sends.
12. Internet Release Authorized.