19 Ohio Severe Weather Awareness Poster Contest Finalists Recognized

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.


For Immediate Release: August 3, 2019

19 Ohio Severe Weather Awareness Poster Contest Finalists Recognized in Annual Awards Ceremony


COLUMBUS, OH – Hannah Boehm, a fifth grade student in Union County during the 2018-2019 school year, was recognized Saturday as the overall state winner of the Ohio Committee for Severe Weather Awareness poster contest. Hannah’s colorful poster on tornado safety noted: When Severe Weather Threatens, Remember to DUCK! Go DOWN to the lowest level; Get UNDER something sturdy; COVER your head; and KEEP in shelter until the storm has passed.

The Ohio Committee for Severe Weather Awareness (OCSWA) chose Hannah’s poster as the most informative, accurate and creative out of the many posters received during its annual poster contest Saturday at the Ohio State Highway Patrol Academy (next to the Ohio State Fair).

As the overall state winner, Hannah received a variety of awards and prizes from the committee and its partners, to include a check to go toward a $100 U.S Treasury Direct savings bond, a letter of congratulations from Governor Mike DeWine, a National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Weather Radio, a smoke detector, a personalized trophy, a Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) backpack and disaster supply kit, and a host of other prizes. Later in the fall, her school will receive an engraved “traveling” trophy to showcase for the remainder of the school year. In an effort to promote severe weather preparedness, the committee will feature Hannah’s poster throughout the year.

Six students, one from first through sixth grades, were announced as state-level winners and received prizes and awards to include checks to go toward $50 savings bonds, NOAA Weather Radios, smoke detectors, and letters of congratulations from Gov. DeWine. They are: 1st Grader Francesca Cervantes of Licking County; 2nd Grader Blake Acheson of Allen County; 3rd Grader Emma Haupt of Stark County; 4th Grader Oz Rutger of Erie County; 5th Grader Ariauna Martin of Scioto County; and 6th Grader Jordan Hammond of Trumbull County.

This year, 19 students from 11 Ohio counties were honored as poster contest finalists. The students represented grades 1-6 from 14 school. As finalists, each student artist received a certificate from the National Weather Service and tote bags full of prizes from the offices and their partners that make up the Ohio Committee for Severe Weather Awareness.

Since 1978, the Ohio Committee for Severe Weather Awareness has conducted its annual poster contest. Since its inception, students have illustrated informative posters on severe weather safety and preparedness. The efforts of these students have helped OCSWA meet its overall goal: To educate Ohioans about the actions they can take to protect themselves and others before, during and after severe weather occurs.

Names of the 19 poster contest finalists

(*)  Denotes state winners
(**) Denotes the overall state winner

1st Grade
Francesca Cervantes*            Licking County
Sophia Daniels                        Scioto County
Miles Rathkamp                      Ross County

2nd Grade
Blake Acheson*                      Allen County
Makayla Crank                       Scioto County
Resse Green                          Scioto County

3rd Grade
Emma Haupt*                         Stark County
Grace Conley                          Scioto County
Kailyn Miller                            Ashland County

4th Grade
Avery Heim                             Licking County
Oz Rutger*                              Erie County
Kasey Sterba                          Portage County

5th Grade
Hannah Boehm**                    Union County
David DeJoy                           Trumbull County
Gracie Howard                        Greene County
Ariauna Martin*                       Scioto County

6th Grade                   
Amya Carr                              Scioto County
Aidan Dixon                            Portage County
Jordan Hammond*                 Trumbull County

All posters will be available to view on the OCSWA website: www.weathersafety.ohio.gov

# # #

For additional information, contact:

Kelli Blackwell at (614) 799-3694