County board actions

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

county board actions


Contact: Carolyn Marinan, Communications, 612-348-5969

Leadership appointments

The board reaffirmed several leadership appointments.


County board leadership

  • Board chair: Commissioner Marion Greene, District 3
  • Vice chair: Commissioner Mike Opat, District 1


Committee chairs

  • Administration, Libraries and Budget: Commissioner Debbie Goettel, District 5
  • Health and Human Services: Commissioner Angela Conley, District 4
  • Intergovernmental Relations: Commissioner Jan Callison, District 6, and Mike Opat, District 1
  • Public Safety: Commissioner Jeff Johnson, District 7
  • Public Works: Commissioner Mike Opat, District 1


Regional Railroad Authority leadership

  • Chair: Commissioner Jan Callison, District 6
  • Vice chair: Commissioner Mike Opat, District 1

Refugee resettlement action

The board directed the county administrator to prepare letters of support for refugee resettlement within Hennepin County, consistent with instructions contained in Executive Order 13888.

On September 26, 2019, President Donald Trump issued Executive Order 13888 - Enhancing State and Local Involvement in Refugee Resettlement. This order requires refugee resettlement agencies to secure explicit support from state and local governments for resettlement of refugees.

Over the last five years, 1,345 refugees have been resettled in Hennepin County.

How to view board meetings

The county board usually meets Tuesdays at 1:30 p.m. at the Hennepin County Government Center. Find minutes, agendas and more at

Board and committee meetings are live streamed on the web, broadcast live on Metropolitan Cable Network Channel 6, and re-broadcast on Channel 6 on Fridays at 8 p.m.


2020 board meeting calendar

The board approved the meeting calendar for this year. The calendar will soon be posted at

Look for more news on the Hennepin County website at

Discover how we're making a difference in our communities at