Holiday hours in the workplace


Wage and Hour Bulletin

November 2022

A retail worker in a clothing store standing with their arms crossed.

Holiday hours in the workplace

It is time again for holiday shopping, which can mean longer hours for workers and employers in the retail industry and other industries in Minnesota.

To help employers avoid holiday pay issues and ensure workers know their rights, we have compiled a list of answers to frequently asked questions. Reviewing these FAQs can help your business follow state labor laws this holiday season. 

It is important to note seasonal or temporary employees maintain the same rights as traditional employees.

What hours can youth employees work?

Minors who are ages 14 to 17 may work in Minnesota, but there are limitations to the hours and types of work they can perform.

A minor less than 16 years of age:

Minors who are 16 and 17:

  • may not work before 5 a.m. on a school day;
  • may not work past 11 p.m. on an evening before a school day; and
  • may, with parental permission, work as early as 4:30 a.m. on a school day and as late as 11:30 p.m. on an evening before school.

Are seasonal employees eligible for overtime?

Seasonal or temporary employees are eligible for overtime pay after 48 hours worked (and after 40 hours worked under federal law) in a seven-day workweek.

Some seasonal employees may not be entitled to overtime if they work at a carnival, circus, fair or ski facility.

What type of breaks do employees earn?

Every employee is entitled to the following breaks.

  • Time to use the nearest convenient restroom once for every four hours of work.
  • Time to eat a meal once every eight hours worked.

Any break fewer than 20 minutes long is considered time worked and must be paid. 

Breaks more than 20 minutes long are not required to be paid if employees are completely relieved from work.

2023 minimum wage poster

New minimum wage poster available, other required posters

The state's new minimum wage poster is available to print or order at no cost on DLI's websiteMinnesota's minimum-wage rates will be adjusted for inflation beginning Jan. 1, 2023.

Rates as of Jan. 1, 2023

  • Large employers must pay at least $10.59 an hour when the employer's annual gross revenues are $500,000 or more.
  • Small employers must pay at least $8.63 an hour when the employer's annual gross revenues are less than $500,000.
  • The training wage rate, at least $8.63 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 20 years of age for the first 90 consecutive days of employment.
  • The youth wage rate, at least $8.63 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 18 years of age.

Minnesota law requires employers to display state-mandated posters in a location where all employees can easily see them, such as in the break room, in a common area or by the time clock.

Sign up to be notified when Minnesota posters have been updated.

St. Paul, Minneapolis minimum wages

St. Paul and Minneapolis both have municipal minimum wage ordinances. Learn more about city minimum wage requirements and download required and updated workplace posters for Minneapolis and St. Paul.

Additional posters may be required

Some U.S. government agencies also have mandatory poster requirements. More information is available at the links below.


Labor Standards serves the people of Minnesota by providing
information about the state's wage, hour and employment laws.

Phone:  651-284-5075 or 800-342-5354