Workplace provisions to support breastfeeding families


Wage and Hour Bulletin

July 2021


Workplace protections expanded for expectant, new parents

Effective Jan. 1, 2022, workplace protections under the Women's Economic Security Act will be expanded. Changes include the following.

  • Requiring nursing and lactating employees to receive paid break time to express milk at work. The change does not require current unpaid break time such as a meal breaks to be converted to paid break time.
  • Ensuring more employees have a right to request and receive needed pregnancy accommodations in the workplace, such as more frequent restroom, food and water breaks and limits to heavy lifting. This change will apply to employers with 15 or more employees.

View new law changes and find other Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) resources for expectant and new parents.

Informational webinars:  Workplace provisions supporting breastfeeding families

In recognition of National Breastfeeding Month, you are invited to participate in one of two free webinars about state and federal laws that address workplace breastfeeding and pregnancy accommodations on either Aug. 11 or Aug. 18.

The one-hour webinar will feature a presentation and a question-and-answer session from representatives of DLI, the U.S. Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division, the Minnesota Department of Health and the Minnesota Department of Human Rights.

Information about the new state laws impacting expectant and new parents' workplace rights will be discussed.

Learn more and register.

Minimum-wage rates increase in St. Paul, Minneapolis

On July 1, the minimum wage in St. Paul increased for employers with:

  • 101 to 10,000 employees to $12.50 an hour;
  • six to 100 employees to $11 an hour; and
  • five or fewer employees to $10.00 an hour.

For more information, visit the St. Paul minimum-wage webpage.

On July 1, the minimum wage in Minneapolis increased for employers with:

  • 100 or fewer employees to $12.50 an hour; and
  • 101 or more employees to $14.25 an hour.

For more information, visit the Minneapolis minimum-wage webpage.

Learn more about the state's minimum-wage laws.


Labor Standards serves the citizens of Minnesota by providing
information about the state's wage, hour and employment laws.

Phone:  651-284-5075 or 800-342-5354