2020 brings labor standards changes

minnesota department of labor and industry

Wage and Hour Bulletin

December 2019

New employer requirements starting Jan. 1, 2020

Minnesota minimum-wage rates increase

The following are Minnesota's minimum-wage rates as of Jan. 1, 2020.

  • Large employers must pay at least $10 an hour when the employer's annual gross revenues are $500,000 or more.
  • Small employers must pay at least $8.15 an hour when the employer's annual gross revenues are less than $500,000.
  • The training wage rate, $8.15 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 20 years of age for the first 90 consecutive days of employment.
  • The youth wage rate, $8.15 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 18 years of age.

Employers can print or order a free copy of the required minimum wage poster by visiting DLI's website.

Employee notice updates may be required

New this year, as part of Minnesota's employee notice requirement, employers are required to provide each employee with a written notice of any change, before the change takes effect, including a change to the employee's rate of pay. Learn more about the employee notice requirement at www.dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/employee-notice.

DLI continues wage theft outreach to businesses

Since passage of the Wage Theft Prevention Act in 2019, DLI has engaged in significant outreach activities to reach employers and employees about new rights and responsibilities created by the law.

As of Dec. 18, DLI has partnered with and presented to 66 employer association groups, engaging thousands of Minnesota employers about the Wage Theft Prevention Act.

Businesses and organizations interested in learning more about the law or would like to schedule a speaker can call Labor Standards at 651-284-5075. 

City of Minneapolis wage theft ordinance

Minneapolis' wage theft ordinance goes into effect Jan. 1, 2020. While similar to Minnesota's Wage Theft Prevention Act, the ordinance has additional requirements employers should make themselves aware of.

City of Saint Paul minimum wage

Employees of "macro businesses," defined as those with more than 10,000 employees and city of Saint Paul employees, will have their minimum wage increased to $12.50 an hour effective Jan. 1, 2020.  Saint Paul minimum wages for large, small and micro businesses will see increases July 1, 2020. For details see Saint Paul's minimum wage information site.  

City of Duluth sick and safe time 

Duluth's sick and safe time ordinance goes into effect Jan. 1, 2020. Similar to Saint Paul's and Minneapolis' ordinances, Duluth's will require employers provide paid sick and safe time off for certain employees.

New federal salary threshold for exempt employees 

Employers that are subject to federal overtime requirements should be aware the minimum weekly salary for exempt employees is scheduled to increase to $684 a week on Jan. 1, 2020. See the U.S. Department of Labor's final rule website for more information.


Labor Standards serves the citizens of Minnesota by providing 
information about the state's wage, hour and employment laws.

 Phone:  651-284-5075 or 800-342-5354
Email:  dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us 
Website:  www.dli.mn.gov