REMINDER: KDE to announce 2023 Kentucky Teacher of the Year tomorrow

Graphic with KDE  and United We Learn logos.

Media Advisory

Media Contact: Toni Konz Tatman

Chief Communications Officer

Office: (502) 564-2000, ext. 4602

Advisory 22-305


Sept. 19, 2022

Graphic reading: KDE Media Portal, 2023 Kentucky Teacher Awards and Announcement of the Teacher of the Year, Sept. 20, 2022, 10 a.m. ET


REMINDER: KDE to announce 2023 Kentucky Teacher of the Year tomorrow


  • Jason E. Glass, Ed.D., Commissioner of Education and Chief Learner
  • Sam Mitchell, Valvoline's Chief Executive Officer
  • Gov. Andy Beshear


The Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) will host the 2023 Kentucky Teacher of the Year ceremony. Winners of the elementary, middle and high school Teacher of the Year awards, in addition to the overall 2023 Kentucky Teacher of the Year, will be announced during the ceremony.

Semifinalists for elementary Teacher of the Year are:

  • Rebecca Brewer, Norton Commons Elementary School (Jefferson County)
  • Kelly Gates, Pride Elementary School (Hopkins County)
  • Amber Hays, Thelma B. Johnson Early Learning Center (Henderson County)

The middle school semifinalists are:

  • Keva Buckley, Kentucky School for the Deaf
  • Nathaniel Green, Newport High School (Newport Independent Schools)
  • Danielle Hicks, Clinton County Middle School
  • Mandy Perez, Crittenden County Middle School

The high school semifinalists are:

  • Cathy Conley, Knott County Central High School
  • Robin Kemp, Highlands High School (Fort Thomas Independent)
  • Lauren Niemann, Fern Creek High School (Jefferson County)
  • Amber L. Sergent, Woodford County High School

Valvoline will present the 24 recipients of the Teacher Achievement Award with a cash award and certificate. The three Kentucky Teachers of the Year also will receive custom-designed glassware commemorating their accomplishments.

The event will be held in person for the first time in three years.


Tuesday, Sept. 20, 10 a.m. ET (We suggest media arrive for set-up no later than 9:45 a.m. ET)


Kentucky State Capitol Rotunda, 700 Capital Ave., Frankfort, 40601

Watch Live:

Tune in on the KDE Media Portal.