Committee Meeting to Analyze and Review Assessment Results and Accountability System

Kentucky Department of Education

Meeting Advisory

Media Contact: Jessica Fletcher

Chief Communications Officer

Office: (502) 564-2000, ext. 4611
Cell: (502) 229-1915

Advisory 19-154


October 14, 2019

Committee Meeting to Analyze and Review Assessment Results and Accountability System

(FRANKFORT, KY) – A group of education stakeholders and policymakers will gather in Frankfort Oct. 22 to analyze and review state assessment results and Kentucky’s accountability system. The meeting will be held from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. ET at the Hudson Hollow Office Building, 2 Hudson Hollow Road, Suite B, Training Room.

Senate Bill 175 (2019) requires the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) to convene a committee to analyze state assessment results and examine and consider the expected impacts, unintended consequences and potential for all schools to reach the highest ratings in the state accountability system. KDE recently released assessment and accountability results for the 2018-2019 school year and implemented the new 5-star rating system for the first time.

Kentucky’s accountability system was developed by an inclusive process, with the input of more than 6,000 people. The accountability system has students at its center – ensuring they are well-rounded, transition-ready, and prepared with knowledge, skills and essential dispositions to successfully pursue the pathway of their choice after graduating from high school. The system has several key goals:

  • Promote higher levels of student learning and achievement;
  • Reduce achievement gaps and ensure equity;
  • Build a culture of high expectations and continuous improvement; and
  • Communicate a clear and honest understanding of strengths and areas for improvement in schools.

“We have assembled a diverse group of stakeholders with incredible experience and expertise. The group’s feedback on the early implementation of Kentucky’s new school accountability system will be extremely valuable to KDE as we strive to fine-tune the system as needed. I am thankful for their time and commitment to Kentucky’s students,” said Kentucky Education Commissioner Wayne Lewis.

The system uses multiple academic and school quality measures, not a single test or indicator. Reporting of each indicator was determined by setting standards for very high to very low performance on the indicators listed below. Scores from each indicator were combined to create an Overall Accountability Score. The indicators contribute to a school’s/district’s overall accountability score and star rating. Results from the 2018-2019 school year were reported in an online School Report Card and included disaggregation of individual student group data and included reported-only measures.

Currently, Kentucky’s accountability system includes the following indicators:

  • Proficiency – based on student performance on tests in reading and mathematics
  • Separate Academic – based on student performance on tests in science, writing and social studies (included in high schools beginning in 2021)
  • Growth – (elementary and middle schools only) based on student growth toward proficiency on reading and mathematics tests; and English learners’ growth on an English proficiency exam
  • Graduation – (high schools only) the percentage of students who graduate within a specified period compared with the cohort of students who started high school the same year
  • Transition Readiness – (high school only) based on students earning a high school diploma and meeting either academic or career readiness as defined in Kentucky’s accountability system. Measures for achieving academic or career readiness include meeting benchmarks on the college admissions exam (ACT), a college placement exam, Advanced Placement, International Baccalaureate, Cambridge Advanced International, Kentucky Department of Education (KDE)-approved dual credit, industry certifications, career and technical education end-of-program assessments, KDE/Labor Cabinet-approved apprenticeship and verification of exceptional work experience. High school transition readiness also is based on English language learners’ attainment of English language proficiency.
  • Quality of School Climate and Safety – (coming in the 2019-2020 school year) based on student surveys.

Members of the committee bring a variety of educational experiences and expertise to analyze and review assessment results and the accountability system. Members of the committee include:

  • Nick Carter, superintendent, Breckinridge County schools
  • Cornelius Faulkner, superintendent, Caverna Independent schools
  • Jonathan Jett, superintendent, Perry County schools
  • Deanna Miller, superintendent, Fulton Independent schools
  • Erica Thompson, district assessment coordinator, Jefferson County schools
  • Shelli Wilson, district assessment coordinator, Campbell County schools
  • Tharon Hurley, district assessment coordinator, Laurel County schools
  • Patty Johnson, district assessment coordinator, Pike County schools
  • Kimberly White, district assessment coordinator, Henderson County schools
  • DeeAnna Crump, director of English learners and federal programs, Warren County schools
  • Monica Heavrin, director of special education, Grayson County schools
  • Twanjua Jones, principal, Yates Elementary, Fayette County schools
  • Todd Neace, principal, Bath County Middle School, Bath County schools
  • Catrina McDermott, principal, Pineville Independent School (K-12)
  • Amy Tracy, principal, Lincoln County Area Technology Center
  • Kaysin Higgins, teacher, Calloway County schools
  • Ron Jones, teacher, Jefferson County schools
  • Susan Readnower, teacher, Harrodsburg Area Technology Center
  • Autumn Neagle, parent, Kentucky parent teacher association
  • Jim Flynn, executive director, Kentucky Association of School Superintendents
  • Rhonda Caldwell, executive director, Kentucky Association of School Administrators
  • Mike Stone, executive director, Kentucky Association for Career and Technical Education
  • Melissa Aguilar, executive director, Kentucky Workforce Innovation Board
  • Travis Burton, director of political affairs, Kentucky Chamber of Commerce
  • Susan Weston, policy and data analyst, Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence
  • Melissa Bell, VP of academic affairs and student success, Council on Postsecondary Education
  • Lisa Allen, dean, School of Education, Campbellsville University
  • Jay Box, president, Kentucky Community and Technical College System
  • Caroline Atkins, assistant to the president for strategic initiatives and visiting assistant professor, Morehead State University
  • Charles Aull, public policy manager, Greater Louisville Inc.

Brian Gong from the Center for Assessment will facilitate the meeting.

A full agenda of the meeting follows:

Committee Meeting to Analyze and Review Assessment Results and Accountability System
Oct. 22, 2019, 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. ET
Kentucky Department of Education
2 Hudson Hollow, Suite B, Training Room
Frankfort, KY


  • Welcome and Introductions
  • Overview
  • Overview of Current System 
  • Analysis of 2018-2019 Results
  • Discussion on Expected Impacts
  • Discussion on Unintended Consequences and Influence on Practice
  • Recommendations and Considerations to Improve Kentucky’s Education System
  • Wrap-Up
  • Adjourn