The Indiana Career Explorer Pilot Program expands by 20 middle schools for 2018-19

Having trouble viewing this email?
Click here to view it online.

DWD News Release Banner

The Indiana Career Explorer Pilot Program expands by 20 middle schools for 2018-19


INDIANAPOLIS (June 25, 2018) — The Indiana Career Explorer Pilot Program has expanded by 20 middle schools across the state of Indiana for the upcoming 2018-19 school year. The Indiana Career Explorer Pilot Program is designed for eighth-graders to utilize all components of the Indiana Career Explorer tool, including career exploration, career plan development and skills and work values assessments.

“A lot of enhancements were added to the Indiana Career Explorer tool during the first year of the pilot,” said Beth Meguschar, DWD Associate Chief Operating Officer, Workforce Education and Training. “We are excited for our new pool of pilot schools to be utilizing our improved, school-friendly model to help students make more informed decisions in their career exploration and planning process.” 

This second round of middle schools joins 15 other schools that had participated in the first round last school year, and which will continue to participate in the program this upcoming school year.

The 20 schools joining the Indiana Career Explorer Pilot Program include:

  • Crawford County Community School Corporation: Crawford County Middle School, Marengo
  • Duneland School Corporation: Chesterton Middle School, Chesterton
  • Eastbrook Community School Corporation: Eastbrook Junior High School, Marion
  • Elwood Community School Corporation: Elwood Junior-Senior High School, Elwood
  • Holy Spirit School, Indianapolis
  • John Glenn School Corporation: Harold C. Urey Middle School, Walkerton
  • Lewis Cass Schools: Lewis Cass Junior High School, Walton
  • Manchester Community Schools: Manchester Jr-Sr High School, North Manchester
  • Monroe Central School Corporation: Monroe Central Jr/Sr High School, Randolph County
  • MSD Bluffton-Harrison: Bluffton Harrison Middle School, Bluffton
  • MSD Lawrence Township: Belzer Middle School, Indianapolis
  • Northeastern Wayne Schools: Northeastern Middle School, Fountain City
  • Plymouth Community School Corporation: Lincoln Junior High School, Plymouth
  • South Henry School Corporation: Tri Junior-Senior High School, Straughn
  • South Knox School Corporation: South Knox Middle-High School, Vincennes
  • South Montgomery Community School Corporation: Southmont Junior High School, Crawfordsville
  • South Newton School Corporation: South Newton Middle School, Kentland
  • Spencer-Owen Community Schools: Owen Valley Middle School, Spencer
  • Sunman-Dearborn Community School Corporation: Sunman-Dearborn Middle School, Brookville
  • White River Valley School District: White River Valley Middle School, Lyons

The expansion of the Indiana Career Explorer Pilot Program is a result of SEA 297 passed by the Indiana General Assembly in 2018 requiring that the Department of Education, in consultation with the Department of Workforce Development, increase the number of schools involved in the pilot program for instruction in and use of the Indiana Career Explorer program and curriculum by at least 15 schools.


About the Indiana Department of Workforce Development
DWD serves the worker and the employer to ensure workplace success. DWD is committed to innovating and invigorating Indiana’s economic future by providing WorkOne Career Centers, Unemployment Insurance, Labor Market Information, Regional Workforce Strategies and Professional Training. Through these services, DWD is able to develop a premier workforce that enables Indiana employers to flourish and entices businesses from outside our state to relocate to Indiana.

For additional information, contact:
Kayli Schroeder, 317-232-7358,
Find us on Facebook | Twitter

ICR Footer