Presidential Awards for Excellence in K-6 Teaching (including Computer Science)

Iowa Department of Education Banner

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teaching. 

Anyone--principals, teachers, parents, students, or members of the general public-- may nominate exceptional STEM teachers who are currently teaching grades K-6 for the 2019-2020 award year. Teachers may also apply directly at

The nomination deadline is March 1, 2020 and the application deadline is May 1, 2020, for elementary school teachers (grades K-6). Secondary school teachers (grades 7-12) will be eligible to apply during a future cycle.

Wren Hoffman
Program Consultant, Computer Science
Iowa Department of Education
Grimes State Office Building