Reynolds, Naig and Trautman recognize 66 families with Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

IDALS naig header

*** Reporters and Editors: A list all the 2018 winners of Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Awards can be found here. Photos were taken of families that came to the ceremony and the final column lists the families for which there is a picture available. High resolution copies of the photos by the recipients’ last names can be found at Information about the winner's farming operation can also be found in the photo description. EPA Region 7 Administrator Jim Gulliford was also present for the award ceremony and is in the far left of the pictures.

For Immediate Release: Friday, Sept. 14, 2018


Awards presented at Iowa State Fair to families that have led the way on environmental stewardship

DES MOINES – Gov. Kim Reynolds, Iowa Sec. of Agriculture Mike Naig and acting Iowa Department of Natural Resources Director Bruce Trautman presented 66 Iowa farm families with the Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award during a ceremony at the Iowa State Fair on Wednesday, Aug. 15.

The award is a joint effort between the Governor, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and Iowa Department of Natural Resources to recognize the efforts of Iowa’s farmers as environmental leaders committed to healthy soils and improved water quality.  It seeks to recognize the exemplary voluntary actions of farmers that improve or protect the environment and natural resources of our state while also encouraging other farmers to follow in their footsteps by building success upon success.

“It is important we celebrate the conservation leaders who continually demonstrate their passion for protecting the soil and improving water quality. These awards help celebrate these deserving farmers and highlight their commitment to and investment in environmental stewardship,” Naig said.

“We congratulate and thank all of the farmers recognized and to the many others that also practice these conservation practices. The actions of these farm leaders sets examples for others and demonstrates their dedication to protecting our state,” said Trautman.

This is the seventh year for the award program and to date more than 500 families have received recognition.

Winners were presented a certificate as well as a yard sign donated by Monsanto and a commemorative program provided by the Iowa Ag Water Alliance.  Hagie Manufacturing sponsored a recognition luncheon following the ceremony.

All winners were chosen by a selection group representing both conservation and agricultural groups.

The selection group that approved the 2018 winners included Susan Kozak from the Iowa Department of Agriculture & Land Stewardship, Bruce Trautman from the Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Jim Frederick from the Conservation Districts of Iowa, Jay Harmon from Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, Sean McMahon from the Iowa Agriculture Water Alliance, David De Geus from The Nature Conservancy, Jeff Pape from the Iowa Farm Bureau, Dennis Friest from the Iowa Corn Growers Association, Wayne Fredericks from the Iowa Soybean Association, Sheila Larson from the Iowa Turkey Federation, Dan Wetherell from the Iowa Pork Producers Association and Katie Oltoff from the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association.


For more information, contact Dustin Vande Hoef, (515) 281-3375 or (515) 326-1616 (cell) or