160 Florida State Parks Open Following Hurricane Irma

Media Advisory Banner

Media Advisory: Sept. 29, 2017

CONTACT: DEP Press Office, 850.245.2112, DEPNews@dep.state.fl.us

160 Florida State Parks Open Following
Hurricane Irma

~14 state parks remain closed for visitor safety~

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.The Department of Environmental Protection’s Florida Park Service announces that 160 state parks, more than 90 percent, are open following Hurricane Irma. To ensure visitor safety, 14 state parks remain closed.

The following state parks are closed until further notice:

      • Bahia Honda State Park (Monroe County)
      • Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park (Dade County)
      • Curry Hammock State Park (Monroe County)
      • Dagny Johnson Key Largo Hammock Botanical State Park (Monroe County)
      • Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park (Monroe County)
      • General James A. Van Fleet State Trail (Sumter, Lake and Polk counties)
      • Highlands Hammock State Park (Highlands and Hardee counties)
      • Hontoon Island State Park (Volusia and Lake counties)
      • Indian Key Historic State Park (Monroe County)
      • John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park (Monroe County)
      • Lignumvitae Key Botanical State Park (Monroe County)
      • Long Key State Park (Monroe County)
      • The Barnacle Historic State Park (Dade County)
      • Windley Key Fossil Reef Geological State Park (Monroe County)

      All other Florida State Parks are open at this time for day use only.

      Visitor safety is paramount in the decision to reopen Florida State Parks following times of severe weather. Additionally, Florida State Parks are in constant communication with state and local emergency operations centers and will reopen based on conditions and location.

      Please visit floridastateparks.org and the Florida State Parks Facebook page for continuously updated information.

      Florida Governor Rick Scott declared a state of emergency for Hurricane Irma. Visit FloridaDisaster.org for updates and information about this storm.

      The 2017 Atlantic Hurricane season runs from June 1 – Nov. 30. For additional information about severe weather in Florida, and to "Get a Plan," visit FLGetAPlan.com. For continuous updates and recovery tips, follow the State Emergency Response Team on Twitter at @FLSERT and Facebook at www.Facebook.com/FloridaSERT.