State Park Closures for Hurricane Irma

Media Advisory Banner

Media Advisory: Sept. 7, 2017

CONTACT: DEP Press Office, 850.245.2112,

State Park Closures for Hurricane Irma

~State parks closed to ensure visitor safety~

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.The Department of Environmental Protection’s Florida Park Service announces the closure of 52 state parks two additional campgrounds across the state due to imminent weather conditions including strong winds and rain. Preparations are being made to close an additional 41 parks tomorrow.

The following state parks are closed until further notice:

    • Amelia Island State Park (Nassau County) 
    • Anclote Key Preserve State Park (Pinellas and Pasco counties) 
    • Atlantic Ridge Preserve State Park (Martin County) 
    • Avalon State Park (St. Lucie County)
    • Bahia Honda State Park (Monroe County)
    • Big Talbot Island State Park (Duval County)
    • Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park (Dade County)
    • Caladesi Island State Park (Pinellas County)
    • Cayo Costa State Park (Lee County)
    • Charlotte Harbor Preserve State Park (Lee and Charlotte counties)
    • Collier-Seminole State Park (Collier County)
    • Curry Hammock State Park (Monroe County)
    • Dagny Johnson Key Largo Hammock Botanical State Park (Monroe County) 
    • Delnor-Wiggins Pass State Park (Collier County)
    • Dr. Von D. Mizell-Eula Johnson State Park (Broward County)
    • Egmont Key State Park (Hillsborough County)
    • Estero Bay Preserve State Park (Lee County)
    • Fakahatchee Strand Preserve State Park (Collier County)
    • Fernandina Plaza Historic State Park (Nassau County)
    • Florida Keys Overseas Heritage Trail (Monroe County)
    • Fort Clinch State Park (Nassau County)
    • Fort George Island Cultural State Park (Duval County) 
    • Fort Pierce Inlet State Park (St. Lucie County)
    • Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park (Monroe County)
    • Gasparilla Island State Park (Lee County)
    • George Crady Bridge Fishing Pier State Park (Nassau and Duval counties)
    • Hillsborough River State Park (Hillsborough County)
    • Honeymoon Island State Park (Pinellas County)
    • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park (Broward County)
    • Indian Key Historic State Park (Monroe County) 
    • John D. MacArthur Beach State Park (Palm Beach County)
    • John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park (Monroe County)
    • Jonathan Dickinson State Park (Martin and Palm Beach counties)
    • Kissimmee Prairie Preserve State Park (Okeechobee and Osceola counties) 
    • Koreshan State Historic Site (Lee County) 
    • Lake Kissimmee State Park (Polk and Osceola counties)
    • Lignumvitae Key Botanical State Park (Monroe County)
    • Little Talbot Island State Park (Duval County)
    • Long Key State Park (Monroe County) 
    • Lovers Key State Park (Lee County) 
    • Mound Key Archaeological State Park (Lee County)
    • Oleta River State Park (Dade County) 
    • Pumpkin Hill Creek Preserve State Park (Duval County) 
    • San Pedro Underwater Archaeological Preserve State Park (Monroe County) 
    • Savannas Preserve State Park (St Lucie County) 
    • Seabranch Preserve State Park (Martin County) 
    • Sebastian Inlet State Park (Brevard and Indian River counties) 
    • St. Lucie Inlet Preserve State Park (Martin County) 
    • Stump Pass Beach State Park (Charlotte County) 
    • The Barnacle Historic State Park (Dade County) 
    • Windley Key Fossil Reef Geological State Park (Monroe County) 
    • Yellow Bluff Fort Historic State Park (Duval County) 

    The following state parks will be closing by 5 p.m. on Friday:

    • Addison Blockhouse Historic State Park (Volusia County)
    • Allen David Broussard Catfish Creek Preserve State Park (Polk County) 
    • Anastasia State Park (St. Johns County) 
    • Blue Spring State Park (Volusia County) 
    • Bulow Creek State Park (Flagler and Volusia counties)
    • Bulow Plantation Ruins Historic State Park (Flagler County) 
    • Colt Creek State Park (Polk County) 
    • De Leon Springs State Park (Volusia County) 
    • Don Pedro Island State Park (Charlotte County) 
    • Dunns Creek State Park (Putnam County) 
    • Faver-Dykes State Park (St. Johns County) 
    • Fort Mose Historic State Park (St. Johns County) 
    • Gamble Rogers Memorial State Recreation Area at Flagler Beach (Flagler County) 
    • General James A. Van Fleet State Trail (Sumter, Lake and Polk counties) 
    • Haw Creek Preserve State Park (Flagler, Volusia and Putnam counties) 
    • Hontoon Island State Park (Volusia and Lake counties) 
    • Indian River Lagoon Preserve State Park (Brevard County) 
    • Judah P. Benjamin Confederate Memorial at Gamble Plantation Historic State Park (Manatee County) 
    • Lake Griffin State Park (Lake County) 
    • Lake Louisa State Park (Lake County) 
    • Lake Manatee State Park (Manatee County) 
    • Little Manatee River State Park (Hillsborough County) 
    • Lower Wekiva River Preserve State Park (Lake and Seminole counties)
    • Madira Bickel Mound State Archaeological Site (Manatee County) 
    • Marjorie Harris Carr Cross Florida Greenway (Citrus, Levy, Marion and Putnam counties) 
    • Myakka River State Park (Manatee and Sarasota counties) 
    • North Peninsula State Park (Volusia County) 
    • Okeechobee Battlefield Historic State Park (Okeechobee County) 
    • Palatka-to-St. Augustine State Trail (St. Johns County) 
    • Paynes Creek Historic State Park (Hardee County) 
    • Ravine Gardens State Park (Putnam County) 
    • Rock Springs Run State Reserve (Orange, Lake and Seminole counties) 
    • Silver Springs State Park (Marion County) 
    • South Fork State Park (Manatee County) 
    • St. Sebastian River Preserve State Park (Brevard and Indian River counties) 
    • Terra Ceia Preserve State Park (Manatee County)
    • Tomoka State Park (Volusia County)
    • Washington Oaks Gardens State Park (Flagler County) 
    • Weeki Wachee Springs State Park (Hernando County) 
    • Wekiwa Springs State Park (Seminole, Orange and Lake counties) 
    • Wingate Creek State Park (Manatee County)  

    All other Florida State Parks remain open at this time.

    Visitor safety is paramount in the decision to close and open Florida State Parks during times of severe weather. Additionally, Florida State Parks are in constant communication with state and local emergency operations centers and will close based on conditions and location.

    Please visit and the Florida State Parks Facebook page for continuously updated information.

    Florida Governor Rick Scott has declared a state of emergency in preparation for Hurricane Irma. Visit for updates and information about this storm.

    The 2017 Atlantic Hurricane season runs from June 1 – Nov. 30. For additional information about severe weather in Florida, and to "Get a Plan," visit For continuous updates and preparation tips, follow the State Emergency Response Team on Twitter at @FLSERT and Facebook at