State Park Closures for Hurricane Irma

Media Advisory Banner

Media Advisory: Sept. 7, 2017

CONTACT: DEP Press Office, 850.245.2112,

State Park Closures for Hurricane Irma

~State parks closed to ensure visitor safety~

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.The Department of Environmental Protection’s Florida Park Service announces the closure of 16 state parks in South Florida due to imminent weather conditions including strong winds and rain. Preparations are being made to close an additional 19 parks today. 

The following state parks are closed until further notice:

  • Bahia Honda State Park (Monroe County)
  • Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park (Miami-Dade County)
  • Curry Hammock State Park (Monroe County)
  • Dagny Johnson Key Largo Hammock Botanical State Park (Monroe County)
  • Dr. Von D. Mizell-Eula Johnson State Park (Broward County)
  • Florida Keys Overseas Heritage Trail (Monroe County)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park (Monroe County)
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park (Broward County)
  • Indian Key Historic State Park (Monroe County)
  • John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park (Monroe County)
  • Lignumvitae Key Botanical State Park (Monroe County)
  • Long Key State Park (Monroe County)
  • Oleta River State Park (Miami-Dade County)
  • San Pedro Underwater Archaeological Preserve State Park (Monroe County)
  • The Barnacle Historic State Park (Miami-Dade County)
  • Windley Key Fossil Reef Geological State Park (Monroe County)

The following state parks will be closed by 5 p.m. today:

  • Atlantic Ridge Preserve State Park (Martin County)
  • Avalon State Park (St. Lucie County)
  • Cayo Costa State Park (Lee County)
  • Charlotte Harbor Preserve State Park (Charlotte and Lee counties)
  • Collier-Seminole State Park (Collier County)
  • Delnor-Wiggins Pass State Park (Collier County)
  • Estero Bay Preserve State Park (Lee County)
  • Fakahatchee Strand Preserve State Park (Collier County)
  • Fort Pierce Inlet State Park (St. Lucie County)
  • Gasparilla Island State Park (Lee County)
  • Jonathan Dickinson State Park (Martin and Palm Beach counties)
  • John D. MacArthur Beach State Park (Palm Beach County)
  • Koreshan State Historic Site (Lee County)
  • Lovers Key State Park (Lee County)
  • Mound Key Archaeological State Park (Lee County)
  • Savannas Preserve State Park (Martin and St. Lucie counties)
  • Seabranch Preserve State Park (Martin County)
  • St. Lucie Inlet Preserve State Park (Martin County)
  • Stump Pass Beach State Park (Charlotte County)

All other Florida State Parks remain open at this time.

Visitor safety is paramount in the decision to close and open Florida State Parks during times of severe weather. Additionally, Florida State Parks are in constant communication with state and local emergency operations centers and will close based on conditions and location.

Please visit and the Florida State Parks Facebook page for continuously updated information.

Florida Governor Rick Scott has declared a state of emergency in preparation for Hurricane Irma. Visit for updates and information about this storm.

The 2017 Atlantic Hurricane season runs from June 1 – Nov. 30. For additional information about severe weather in Florida, and to "Get a Plan," visit For continuous updates and preparation tips, follow the State Emergency Response Team on Twitter at @FLSERT and Facebook at