San Diego SBA Announces 2013 Award Winners

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

SBA San Diego District Office

The SBA San Diego District Office is proud to announce its 2013 Small Business Week Award winners:

  • California Small Business Person of the Year
    (In the running for the National Award)
    Michael Jason Ianni, President, M Bar C Construction, Inc.- San Marcos, CA
  • Small Business Exporter of the Year
    Ramon C. Castillo, President & Joseph M. Fernandez, Executive Vice President, CMF Global, Inc. – Chula Vista, CA
  • Minority-Owned Small Business of the Year
    Kathy David, President/CEO & Jeff David, Vice President, IT TechPros, Inc. – Escondido, CA
  • Veteran-Owned Small Business of the Year
    Alejandro “Alex” Galicia, President/CEO, BPI Plumbing – Bonita, CA
  • Women-Owned Small Business of the Year
    Danna Korn, CEO/Co-Founder, Sonic Boom Wellness – Carlsbad, CA
  • Financial Services Champion of the Year
    Valery Belloso, Business Development Officer, ACCION San Diego – Southeastern, San Diego, CA
  • Minority Small Business Champion of the Year
    Victor Castillo, Director, Southwestern College, San Diego CITD – Chula Vista, CA

Additional Awards – Winners to be announced at awards program.

  • George Chandler Leadership Award
  • Anthony Vigil Small Business Advocacy Award
  • SBA Community Service Award
  • SBA Lender of the Year Award (7a)
  • SBA Lender of the Year Award (504)
  • San Diego Business Improvement District Council Award

“As America celebrates the 50th Anniversary of Small Business Week, this is an excellent opportunity to honor the small businesses that have helped make our nation great,” says SBA San Diego District Director Ruben Garcia. “SBA has helped well over 20 million Americans start, grow and expand their businesses, placing tens of billions of dollars in loans into the hands of entrepreneurs in all sectors of the economy.”

Business organizations, lending institutions, chambers of commerce and trade associations typically nominate candidates. A panel is convened at the San Diego district office to review local nominations and select a winner in each of the several categories. District office nominees are sent to SBA’s regional office in San Francisco for judging, and the regional office then submits nominations for national consideration. The regional office covers California, Nevada, Arizona, Hawaii and Guam.

The Annual Small Business Awards Luncheon & Conference, sponsored by SBA and the North San Diego Small Business Development Center, will be held June 12, 2013, at the Scottish Rite Event Center, in Mission Valley to publicly honor our local small business owners and advocates. More information and registration is available at

SBA will honor America’s top entrepreneurs at this year’s National Small Business Week events which will take place all across the country and feature exciting and informative events designed to help small businesses start, grow and succeed. Events will be held in Seattle (6/17), Dallas (6/18), St. Louis (6/19), Pittsburg (6/20), and Washington DC (6/21).

This year’s activities will include forums discussing the small business landscape, business coaching services, matchmaking events as well as networking opportunities and award ceremonies. The week’s events culminate in Washington where the 2013 National Small Business Person of the Year will be announced. Candidates from all 50 states and territories will be competing for the award. And all small businesses that attend will interact with federal government officials, local elected leaders, representatives from national businesses and other small business experts.