Kentucky District Office Newsletter-October 2012

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

October 2012

Kentucky District Office Newsletter

Brought to you by the U.S. Small Business Administration

SBA Administrator Visits Kentucky

SBA Administrator Karen Mills visited the SBA Kentucky District Office in Louisville on October 5.  While at the District Office, she met with the SBA Kentucky Team as well as District Resource Partners.  The Administrator then attended the National Association of Women Business Owners’ national conference in Louisville, where she participated in a Question and Answer session with Ms. Diane Tomb, President and CEO of NAWBO® National, during a luncheon session.  Over 500 woman business owners attended the two-day conference, and SBA had a booth with information about its programs and services at the event. 

Ralph Ross, the SBA Kentucky District Director, stated, “According to the recent American Express OPEN State of Women-Owned Businesses Report, women in the U.S. are starting new businesses at about 150% of the national rate.  However, most of these women-owned small businesses remain below the 100-employee and/or $1 million revenue threshold.  That is why organizations such as NAWBO are so important.  There is also a new Women's Business Center of Kentucky, which helps level the playing field for women entrepreneurs, who still face unique obstacles in the world of business. 

Photo of Karen Mills (L) and Diane Tomb (R)

 

SBA Administrator Karen Mills (L) and NAWBO National President/CEO Diane Tomb (R) at the NAWBO National Conference in Louisville, KY.

Exporting Opportunities for Small Businesses

By Cassius Butts, SBA Region IV Administrator

Looking for new customers?  Consider exporting.  U.S. exports are up 33% since 2009, and SBA has many programs to enable small businesses to reach new customers around the globe, including loan programs, working capital lines and the State Trade Export Program (STEP).

Read more.  

Kentucky SBDC Employees Receive Recognition

Patricia Krausman, Director of the University of Kentucky Small Business Development Center in Elizabethtown, KY, received the 2012 Sutton Landry State Star Award of the Kentucky SBDC.  A 19-year employee of the KSBDC, Krausman also is the statewide program manager for the KSBDC Veterans Assistance Program and has received numerous other awards during her tenure at the KSBDC.

Read more.


Dee Dee Harbut, Director of Special Programs for the Kentucky Small Business Development Center, was recently reappointed as the chair of the Governor’s Minority Employment, Business Affairs and Economic Development Council.  The council operates within the Kentucky’s Governor’s Office of Minority Employment. 

Read more.


SBA Kentucky District Office

600 Dr. M.L. King, Jr. Place

Louisville, KY  40202

Phone: 502-582-5971 + Extension Number 

www.sba.gov/ky

District Director

Ralph Ross     ralph.ross@sba.gov     Ext. 222               

  

Lender Relations

Chief of Finance, Microloan Program Officer, Surety Bond Liaison            

Phil Danhauer     phillip.danhauer@sba.gov     Ext. 243

  

Lender Relations Specialist and Veterans’ Affairs Officer

John McClure     john.mcclure@sba.gov     Ext. 261

  

Economic Development

Business Development Specialist, 8(a) Business Development,

District International Trade Officer and KSBDC Project Officer

Robert Coffey     robert.coffey@sba.gov     Ext. 266

  

Western Kentucky Territory  

Tommie Causey     tommie.causey@sba.gov     Ext. 237

  

Economic Development Specialist, Central Kentucky Territory,

Public Information Officer and Women’s Business Ownership Representative

Michael Ashcraft     michael.ashcraft@sba.gov     Ext. 225

  

Alternate Work Site (AWS) Somerset, Senior Area Manager,

HUBZone Liaison, Southern Kentucky Territory

Arch McAlister     arch.mcalister@sba.gov     606-677-1713

  

Procurement Center Representative

Gina Holman     gina.holman@sba.gov     Ext. 240

 

District Counsel – Kentucky and North Florida

Linda George     linda.george@sba.gov     Ext. 235

  

Paralegal Specialist

Sandi Preston     sandra.preston@sba.gov     Ext. 234

 

Administrative Officer

Diana Hurley     diana.hurley@sba.gov     Ext. 241  

UPCOMING EVENTS

Kentucky SBA Annual Lenders Conference

November 8 - 9 in Louisville, KY.

SBA, NAAGL, and NADCO experts will have Round Table Presentations with opportunities for your questions and feedback this year.

To register, contact Birdie Watkins at bwatkins@khic.org.