2013 Alaska Small Business Week Awards Nominations Requested

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

SBA Alaska District Office

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) AK District Office is seeking nominations for the 2013 Small Business Week Awards.

Each year since 1963, the President of the United States has designated a National Small Business Week.  The highlight of Small Business Week activities is the presentation of awards at the state and national levels.  The 2013 Small Business Week celebration, to be observed May 2013, will honor the small business community's many contributions to the American economy and society.

The 2013 Alaska Small Business Person of the Year will attend the national celebration in Washington, DC to compete for the National Small Business Person of the Year award.  During the celebration, a national winner is selected from state winners from across the country.

SBA Awards given in celebration of National Small Business Week include:

Small Business Person of the Year

State Small Business Persons of the Year Awards  (one from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Guam)

Phoenix Awards

Phoenix Awards for Small Business Disaster Recovery

Phoenix Award for Outstanding Contributions to Disaster Recovery – Volunteer Phoenix

Award for Outstanding Contributions to Disaster Recovery - Public Official

Procurement Awards

Small Business Prime Contractor of the Year

Small Business Subcontractor of the Year

8a Graduate of the Year

Dwight D. Eisenhower Awards for Excellence (for large prime contractors who use small businesses as suppliers and contractors)

Entrepreneurial Development Awards

Women’s Business Center of Excellence Award

SCORE Chapter of the Year

Small Business Development Center (SBDC) Excellence and Innovation Center Award

Veterans Business Development Center of the Year

For nomination forms, criteria for each award category and submission guidelines click here or contact Scott Swingle at 907-474-4878 or scott.swingle@sba.gov . Nominations deadline is January 3, 2013.