Impact of Trauma on Women and Girls Webinar March 7

The Impact of Trauma on Women and Girls Across the Lifespan: A Free Webinar
 

REGISTER FOR THIS FREE WEBINAR NOW!

Session 11:

The Handbook on Sensitive Practice for Health Care Practitioners:
Lessons from Adult Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse

Presented by: Candice L. Schachter, PT, PhD
Adjunct professor, School of Physical Therapy
University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, SK Canada

Dr. Schachter is the principal investigator of the Sensitive Practice Project.

Thursday, March 7, 2013

2pm Eastern — 1pm Central — 12pm Mountain — 11am Pacific

After participating in this webinar participants will be able to:

  1. List feelings and behaviors that adult survivors of childhood sexual abuse may bring into health care encounters.
  2. Describe the principles that health care providers can use to facilitate positive health care encounters with trauma survivors.
  3. Discuss the SAVE approach to managing difficult situations that trauma survivors may experience during health care encounters.
  4. Discuss how task-centered inquiry and disclosure can be applied to assist both the patient and clinician to deal with potential difficult situations during health care encounters.
  5. Discuss why all health care providers should ensure that they use trauma-informed care universally — with all patients, at all times.

Register Now!

About this webinar series:
The impact of violence, abuse, neglect, disaster, war, and other harmful experiences continues long after the traumatic event has ended. Exposure to trauma is a pervasive issue that has significantly impacted the health and well-being of millions of Americans and nearly everyone seeking services in the public health and social services systems. Understanding how trauma affects the emotional, behavioral, cognitive, social, and physical functioning of the people we care for can improve our services.

All health and social service providers are welcome, including medical care providers, dentists, social workers, teachers, mental health workers, substance use disorder treatment providers, corrections officers, and community program staff, to name a few.

Join our email list! If you received this notice as a forwarded message and want to ensure you receive all notifications, or would like to be removed from this list, please e-mail the webinar coordinator at stephanie.gove-yin@hhs.gov.

This LIVE webinar is being sponsored by:
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Office on Women’s Health – Region V
with generous support from SAMHSA

This educational activity is being presented without the provision of commercial support and without bias or conflict of interest from the planners and presenters. Unfortunately, we are not able to provide CEUs for this webinar.

 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office on Women's Health and Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration