U.S. Department of Education and National Rural Education Association host Conference Call on School Safety

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

Bookmark and Share

Dear Rural Educators and Stakeholders,

 

The U.S. Department of Education (ED) and the National Rural Education Association (NREA) will host a conference call with rural school leaders and stakeholders on Thursday, April 11, 1-2 p.m. ET, to provide an overview of school emergency management, and take your questions and comments.  John White, ED’s Deputy Assistant Secretary for Rural Outreach, and

David Esquith, ED’s Director of the Office of Safe and Health Students, will join NREA

Executive Director John Hill on the conference call to engage rural education stakeholders in this conversation.

ED is working collaboratively with other federal agencies, including the Departments of Justice, Homeland Security, Health and Human Services, and the FBI to implement the education-related components of President Obama’s “Now Is the Time” plan to protect children and communities by reducing gun violence. ED also is working with stakeholder groups to increase awareness and understanding of federal resources for school safety and emergency management. The details of the call are as follows:

 

CONFERNCE CALL INFORMATION

 

DATE: Thursday, April 11, 2013

 

TIME: 1 p.m. ET / Noon CT / 11 a.m. MT / 10 a.m. PT

 

Call-In #:       888-831-2980 

 

Passcode:      2528255 

 

 

We hope you will join us!

 

###