Four members appointed to the Board of Water and Soil Resources

News release banner

For release: May 16, 2013         Contact: Jennifer Maleitzke, 651-215-9008 (office); 651-315-5082 (cell)
Four members appointed to the Board of Water and Soil Resources

St. Paul, Minn. —Four people were appointed or re-appointed to the Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR) by Gov. Mark Dayton on May 15, 2013. Appointments included Christy Fogarty of Farmington, representing elected city officials; Judy Ohly of Rochester, representing citizens; Tom Schultz of Sebeka, representing soil and water conservation districts and Tom Loveall of Winnebago, representing county commissioners.

The Board consists of 20 members, state agencies, and citizens, including local government representatives that deliver BWSR programs. The board sets a policy agenda designed to enhance service delivery through the use of local government. Board members, including the board chair, are appointed by the governor to four-year terms.

Fogarty has served on the Farmington City Council since 2003. She is currently employed by Children’s Dental Services in Minneapolis, a non-profit clinic serving children under 21 years of age and pregnant women from underserved communities. Fogarty holds a master’s degree in oral health and a bachelor’s degree in dental hygiene from Metropolitan State University.

Ohly served as an Olmsted County Commissioner from 2005-2012. Her background includes serving on the Olmsted Environmental Commission and the Southeast Minnesota Water Resources Board (2005-2012). She was a founding member and director of the Zumbro Watershed Partnership (2004-2012). Ohly is currently a small business owner and had seven years of experience in the banking industry and 29 years in the real estate industry.

Schultz has been a Wadena Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor for 37 years. Prior to retirement, he was an agricultural educator at Central Lakes College and also served as a consultant for the Trade Adjustment Assistance for Farmers (TAA) program. Schultz has owned and operated the Evergreen Lane Farm since 1970.

Loveall has served three terms as a Faribault County Commissioner, first elected in 2002. He is a former owner/operator of a road construction company and a current agricultural landowner. Additionally, Loveall sits on the advisory board of the Adolescent Treatment Center of Winnebago, is a member of Ducks Unlimited, Faribault County Pheasants Forever and various local sportsman’s clubs. He is also a former president of the Waterville Area Lakes Association.

All the terms are effective May 15 and expire Jan. 2, 2017.