

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

BRIAN J. WHISTON STATE SUPERINTENDENT

RICK SNYDER GOVERNOR

## MEMORANDUM

DATE: January 13, 2016

TO:Local and Intermediate School District Special Education DirectorsFROM:Teri L. Chapman, Ed.S., Director<br/>Office of Special Education

## **SUBJECT:** Certification of Orientation and Mobility Specialists

It has come to the attention of the Office of Special Education (OSE) there has been a question regarding an acceptable credential for an Orientation and Mobility Specialist employed in a Michigan school district. The OSE recognizes the Academy for Certification of Vision Rehabilitation & Education Professionals (ACVREP) as the credentialing organization for all Orientation and Mobility Specialists. This is based on the Michigan Administrative Rule for Special Education, 340.1792.

## **R 340.1792** Licensure, certification, or approval of professional personnel. *Rule 92.*

Professional personnel employed or contracted with to provide related services to students with disabilities shall be licensed, certificated, or registered by a governmental agency or a legally recognized professional board or association as an indication of adequate preparation and training, or be recommended by a college or university offering an appropriate training program as approved by the state board of education.

Michigan currently does not have a state license or certificate therefore a certificate from ACVREP, a recognized national professional organization, is what is required for all Orientation and Mobility Specialists working in school districts.

Please contact Roxanne Balfour, Education Specialist, <u>balfourr@michigan.gov</u> or phone 517-335-0468, if you have questions regarding the certification of Orientation and Mobility Specialists.

cc: Orientation and Mobility Specialists Teachers of Students with Visual Impairment

## STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

JOHN C. AUSTIN – PRESIDENT • CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – VICE PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • PAMELA PUGH – TREASURER LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY – NASBE DELEGATE • KATHLEEN N. STRAUS EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER • RICHARD ZEILE