Climate Change Executive Order Fact Sheet

Summary:

- Extends the Commission's reach, work output and effectiveness through the addition of select representatives of Maryland's business, labor, non-profit, local government and scientific research communities. The Commission would be expanded to as many as 25 members.
- Requires the Commission to develop broader public-private and State-local partnerships to better mitigate the causes of climate change, prepare for and adapt to its consequences and better communicate the urgency of the problem.
- Requires an assessment of the efficacy of existing State regulations and programs.
- Requires development and maintenance of a comprehensive action plan, with five-year benchmarks, to achieve science-based reductions in Maryland's Greenhouse Gas emissions of 80 percent of 2006 levels by 2050.
- Establishes a new Commission work group focused on education and outreach.
- Requires all Commission workgroups to develop annual work plans and establish a performance measurement system to monitor and evaluate climate-related work and progress.
- Charges the Commission with constructing a common data platform to better understand the causes and impacts of climate change and the work being undertaken to mitigate it.
- Requires regular Commission meetings and enhanced State agency reporting to ensure that sufficient effort is being made across all sectors and communities in Maryland.

Proposed Commission Membership

One member appointed by Senate President One member appointed by House Speaker

Government Appointees

Robert M. Summers, Chair of Commission and Secretary of Environment Nancy K. Kopp, Maryland State Treasurer Lillian M. Lowery, Maryland Superintendent of Schools Earl F. Hance, Secretary of Agriculture Joseph P. Gill, Secretary of Natural Resources Richard E. Hall, Secretary of Planning James T. Smith, Jr., Secretary of Transportation Abigail R. Hopper, Esq., Director, Maryland Energy Administration Donald Boesch, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (UMCES)

Nongovernmental/Nonprofit Appointees

Stuart Clarke, Town Creek Foundation Lori Arguelles, Alice Ferguson Foundation Mike Tidwell, Chesapeake Climate Action Network Amy Owsley, Eastern Shore Land Conservancy Lynn Heller, Abell Foundation

Local Government Appointees

Peter Murphy, Charles County Commissioner Kelley Russell, Frederick City Alderman

Business Appointees

Sue Briggum, Vice President, Waste Management, Inc. Chuck Fry, Maryland Farm Bureau Peter Zadoretzky, Sustainability Manager, The Bozzuto Group Brad Karbowsky, United Association of Plumbers and Fitters

Advisory Committee: The Commission shall consult with and seek the advice of the following advisors as appropriate.

Department of Budget & Management Department of Business & Economic Development Department of General Services Department of Housing & Community Development Department of Information Technology Department of Maryland Emergency Management Agency Maryland Association of Counties Maryland Insurance Commission Maryland Municipal League Public Service Commission