Breaking News:Ceremony to be Held at The White House-Seeking Nominations for 2015 Tibbetts & SBIR Hall of Fame Awards

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

SBA Office of Investment and Innovation

BREAKING NEWS: 2015 Tibbetts and SBIR Hall of Fame awardees will be honored at a planned White House ceremony on June 15-2015. Get your nomination packages in now!

WASHINGTON -- The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is seeking nominations for the highly prestigious annual Tibbetts and Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) Hall of Fame Awards.  SBA administers the SBIR and the STTR programs, via 11 participating federal agencies, for small businesses seeking to advance their technological inventions in the commercial marketplace. The SBIR program is a highly competitive three-phase award program that encourages small businesses to explore their technological potential and helps them profit from their inventions and in turn encourage economic growth and development.

Specific details on the nomination process and what to submit can be found here at: .

Please note that for the first time, there is an option for nominations to be made by video presentation.

The deadline for either nomination is 11:59 p.m. EDT, April 10, 2015

Tibbetts Awards: These are presented to those small businesses, support organizations and/or individuals who are judged to exemplify the best in the SBIR program. The award is named for Roland Tibbetts, acknowledged as the father of the Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) program, and is presented to a company or individual that has leveraged the SBIR/STTR investment in a way that has generated a measurable return in value to small business innovation and the national economy.  

There are two types of Tibbetts awards. One prize goes to businesses that have participated in the SBIR or STTR award programs. Another award goes to organizations and/or individuals who have not received SBIR/STTR funding, but who have contributed significantly in implementing the programs or in supporting program participants.

Nominations (Self-Nomination is Permissible) must be emailed to: .

SBIR Hall of FameStarted in 2011, recognizes previous SBIR awardees with a long period of extraordinary success in research, innovation, and commercialization within the SBIR program. Past SBIR Hall of Fame winners include Intuitive Surgical, UltraScan Corporation, iRobot, Qualcomm, and Symantec.

All Tibbetts and SBIR Hall of Fame award winners will be selected by the SBA based on the recommendations of a panel of judges. The winners will be invited to an awards program held in June during the annual SBIR National Conference at the National Harbor. 

Nominations (NO Self-Nominations) must be emailed .

For any additional inquiries for either nomination please contact:

Louis Cupp
U.S. Small Business Administration
Office of Investment and Innovation
409 Third Street, SW, 6th Floor
Washington, DC 20416

In the meantime please visit for more exciting information, and follow us on Twitter via @sbagov #Tibbetts2015 #SBIR #SeedtheFuture