SBA Announces 2014 Small Business Award Winners

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

SBA South Carolina District Office

The SBA South Carolina District Office is proud to announce the winners of the state's 2014 small business awards, which honor both the state's top entrepreneurs and top small business supporters.For more information about the award winners, click here.

The SBA will recognize all award winners during the annual Salute to Small Business event on Wednesday, May 7, in Columbia. For more information about the Salute, see


Nancy Ogburn

South Carolina Small Business Person of the Year

NANCY OGBURN | President, Tomato Palms, LLC | Irmo, SC

For more information about Ms. Ogburn, see her press release.

Melissa Gladden

Runner-Up Small Business Person of the Year

MELISSA GLADDEN | President, Carolina Recruitment | Rock Hill, SC

Nominated by Forrest Norman, Winthrop University Small Business Development Center

S. Richard Hagins

South Carolina Veteran Entrepreneur of the Year

S. RICHARD HAGINS | CEO, US&S, Inc. | Greenville, SC

Nominated by Euleta Alston, US&S

South Carolina Young Entrepreneur of the Year

TAMARA JOHNSON | Owner, Liquid Catering | Greenville, SC

Nominated by Scott Whelchel, Greenville Area Small Business Development Center

Tamara Johnson

The SOHO (Small Office/Home Office) Award

OWENS INSURANCE AGENCY | Chris Crist and Shane Lynn, Owners | Greer, SC

Nominated by Allen Smith and Mark Owens, Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce

South Carolina Family Business of the Year

BOGGERO SERVICES | Earline Boggero, Laurin Boggero and Gena Boggero Partain, Owners/Operators | Greenwood, SC

Nominated by Shonna Vines, The Palmetto Bank


South Carolina Small Business Ally of the Year


Nominated by Diana Greene, Myrtle Beach Area Chamber

South Carolina SBDC Excellence and Innovation Center

AIKEN AREA SBDC | Bob Clark and Laura DiSano, Business Consultants | Aiken, SC

Nominated by Michele Abraham, SC Small Business Development Center State Office

South Carolina Minority Entrepreneurship Advocate of the Year

CARLETHER NESMITH | Grants Administrator, Williamsburg County | Kingstree, SC

Nominated by Mike Bell, Florence Area Small Business Development Center

South Carolina Women in Business Advocate of the Year

MELINDA DAVIS LUX | Member, Wyche, P.A. | Greenville, SC

Nominated by Melissa Thomas, South Carolina Bank and Trust

South Carolina Small Business Financing Advocate of the Year

FRANK KNAPP | President and CEO, South Carolina Small Business Chamber of Commerce | Columbia, SC

Nominated by Pete Oliver, Columbia Area Small Business Development Center