SBIR Hall of Fame & Tibbetts Awardees to be honored for Contributions to the Economy during White House Ceremony:SBA Administrator Maria Contreras-Sweet & NASA Astronaut Cady Coleman to Deliver Keynotes

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

NEWS release


Release Date:

 June 15, 2015


Tiffani S. Clements (202) 401-0035

Release Number:


Internet Address: 

SBIR Hall of Fame & Tibbetts Awardees to be honored for Contributions to the Economy during White House Ceremony

SBA Administrator Maria Contreras-Sweet & NASA Astronaut Cady Coleman to Deliver Keynotes

WASHINGTON – On June 15, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will induct Drs. Arthur & Judith Obermayer to the 2015 SBIR Hall of Fame and present the Tibbetts Awards to 23 small businesses, six individuals, and three supporting organizations for their critical roles in research and development and for successfully driving innovation and creating new jobs through the Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) programs. 

“These innovators are moving ideas from the lab to the marketplace, adding jobs to the economy and advancing our technological potential -- helping our country compete globally,” said Administrator Maria Contreras-Sweet, head of the SBA. “SBA is proud to lead the SBIR/STTR program – America’s Seed Fund, as I like to call it -- to ensure small businesses engage in research and development to continue to propel our nation’s high-tech innovation forward, from nanotechnology to aerospace to therapies for life-threatening illnesses.

The award recipients will be honored during a White House ceremony featuring keynote addresses by Administrator Contreras-Sweet and NASA Flight Engineer Catherine “Cady” Coleman, accomplished scientist and astronaut noted for her six-month expedition to the International Space Station.

Special recognition is being conferred on Drs. Arthur and Judith Obermayer for their seminal work in the SBIR community dating back to 1970. For over a decade, the Obermayers argued for the creation of the SBIR program, garnering key support at the 1980 White House Conference on Small Business. A government-wide SBIR program became law in 1982, championed by the late Senator Edward “Ted” Kennedy.

The Tibbetts Award, honors the SBIR/STTR program participants and supporters that have made a significant economic impact through technological innovation, meeting federal research and development needs, and/or increased the commercialization of federal research. The award is named in honor of the late Roland Tibbetts, who was instrumental in developing the SBIR/STTR programs through a career-long dedication to small business entrepreneurship, applied research and technological breakthroughs.

The 2015 Tibbetts and SBIR Hall of Fame Award Winners:

SBIR Hall of Fame

Dr. Arthur & Dr. Judith Obermayer

Small Businesses                                                                   

ANDRO Computational Solutions

Rome, NY

Aspen Aerogels Inc

Northborough, MA

Behavioral Imaging Solutions

Boise, ID

Bexion Pharmaceuticals

 Covington, KY

Bioo Scientific

 Austin, TX

Celdara Medical

Lebanon, NH

FarSounder, Inc

Warwick, RI

FlexSys Inc

Ann Arbor, MI

Frontier Technology

Beavercreek, OH

Hybrid Plastics, Inc

Hattiesburg, MS

Hydronalix, Inc

Green Valley, AZ                                                

Hysitron, Inc

Eden Prairie, MN                                                 

LI-COR Biosciences

Lincoln, NE                                                         

Lift Labs

Mountain View, CA

Out of the Fog Research

Mountain View, CA

Orbital ATK

Northridge, CA

Precision Combustion

North Haven, CT

Senes Tech

Flagstaff, AZ

StormCenter Communications, Inc

Halethorpe, MD

Systima Technologies, Inc

Kirkland, WA

Techshot, Inc

Greenville, IN

TissueTech, Inc

Doral, FL

Transposagen Biopharmaceuticals

Lexington, KY


R. Wayne Brass

Clearwater, FL                             

Jacques Gansler

College Park, MD

Amanda Gentry

Arlington, VA      

Peter J. Grazaitis

Aberdeen, MD     

Thomas J. Piazza

Odessa, FL                                   

Larry Pollack

Fort Belvoir, VA

Support Organizations


Sausalito, CA       


Boston, MA         

New Orleans BioInnovations

New Orleans, LA

The SBIR/STTR programs represent the nation's largest source of early stage research and development funding for small businesses. The programs are administered by the SBA in collaboration with 11 federal agencies, who collectively supported more than $2.5 billion in federal research and development funding in FY 2014. Additional information about the programs, the upcoming SBIR/STTR national conference and the SBIR Road Tour can be found at

About the Small Business Administration (SBA)

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) was created in 1953 as an independent agency of the federal government to aid, counsel, assist and protect the interests of small business concerns, to preserve free competitive enterprise and to maintain and strengthen the overall economy of our nation. We recognize that small business is critical to our economic recovery and strength, to building America's future, and to helping the United States compete in today's global marketplace. Although SBA has grown and evolved in the years since it was established in 1953, the bottom line mission remains the same. The SBA helps Americans start, build and grow businesses. Through an extensive network of field offices and partnerships with public and private organizations, SBA delivers its services to people throughout the United States, Puerto Rico, the U. S. Virgin Islands and Guam.