Office of Minority Health welcomes five new members to the Advisory Committee on Minority Health

Newsletter banner with images of health care providers and patients

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

You are subscribed to Office of Minority Health updates. This information has recently been updated, and is now available.

The Office of Minority Health (OMH) at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services is pleased to announce five new appointments and a new chair to the Advisory Committee on Minority Health. The Advisory Committee on Minority Health advises the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Minority Health on improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations, and on the development of goals and program activities of OMH.

The next Advisory Committee meeting will be held:

July 8, 2014, 9 am to 5 pm
July 9, 2014, 9 am to 4 pm
Omni Shoreham Hotel
2500 Calvert Street, NW
Washington, DC 20008 

Federal Register Notice of this meeting is available online.

The new Advisory Committee on Minority Health members are:

  • Paul Juarez, PhD, Founding Director, Research Center for Health Equity and the Exposome, University of Tennessee Health Center, Memphis, TN; Professor, Department of Preventive Medicine, University of Tennessee Health Center, Memphis, TN 
  • Cynthia M. Mojica, PhD, Assistant Professor, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Institute for Health Promotion Research, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, School of Medicine, San Antonio, TX 
  • Rea Pañares, MHS, Senior Advisor, Prevention Institute, Oakland, CA  
  • Isabel Scarinci, PhD, MPH, Professor of Medicine, Division of Preventive Medicine, Department of Medicine, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL 
  • Roland J. Thorpe, Jr., PhD, Assistant Professor and Director, Program for Research on Men’s Health, Hopkins Center for Health Disparities Solutions, Department of Health, Behavior, and Society, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore, MD 

New Committee Chair: Roderick K. King, MD, MPH, FAAP, Executive Director, Florida Institute for Health Innovation; Faculty in the Department of Global Health and Social Medicine at Harvard Medical School; Senior Faculty at the Massachusetts General Hospital Disparities Solutions Center; and a Fulbright Regional Network for Applied Research (NEXUS) Scholar, Department of State

New Designated Federal Officer: Rashida Dorsey, PhD, MPH, Director, Division of Policy and Data, OMH

Alternate Designated Federal Officer: Minh Wendt, PhD, Public Health Advisor, Division of Policy and Data, OMH