Logan County Illinois FSA Program Updates

December 2013

GovDelivery Newsletter Masthead

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

Logan County Illinois FSA Updates

Logan County FSA Office

1650 5th Street
Lincoln, IL  62656

Phone: 217-735-5508
Fax: 217-732-9916

County Committee:
Rodney Conklen - Chairman
Tim Southerlan - Vice Chairman
Kenton Stoll - Member
Dorothy Gleason - Advisor

County Executive Director:
John Peters

Program Technicians:
Ann Curry

Tammy Edwards

Dianne Fout

Mari Anne Komnick

Cindy Mayfield

Kristi Olson

Farm Loan Manager:
Tony Schmillen

2014 Crop Acreage Reporting Dates

 Although the 2008 Farm Bill and 1-year extension have both expired, and a new farm bill is still in legislation, the annual requirement to timely and accurately report all crops and land uses to FSA has not changed.  Following are the 2014 crop reporting deadline dates:
December 16, 2013

  • All fall seeded crops, including: Fall Wheat, Perennial Forage (Hay), and all other Fall-Seeded Small Grains.

July 15, 2014

  • All spring seeded crops including Corn and Soybeans,
  • All acreage enrolled in CRP.

It is also important to ensure the correct producer(s) name, crop share(s), and planting date(s) are accurately reported and recorded with both FSA and your crop insurance provider.  Inaccurate reports or discrepancies between FSA and crop insurance can cause ineligibility of USDA program benefits.

Remember: Crop Insurance Records and Farm Service Agency Records Need To Match.

More information on Crop Acreage Data and on information shared with NASS (National Agricultural Statistics Service) can be found at this link.

New County Committee Election Ballots to be Mailed

The County Committee Election ballots that were mailed to producers on November 4 were incorrectly printed with the producer's name and address on the back of the ballot. County Committee elections must use a secret ballot so the misprinted ballots cannot be used. Please destroy or recycle the misprinted ballot. If you have already voted, your ballot will be destroyed unopened.

New ballots will be mailed to producers on December 20, 2013. These ballots will indicate that they are the corrected ballot in several places, including on the outside of the mailing, on the ballot and on the outside of the return envelope.

The corrected ballot must be returned to the Logan County FSA Office or postmarked by January 17, 2014. All newly elected County Committee members will take office February 18, 2014. All County Committee members whose term expires on December 31, 2013, will have their term extended to January 31, 2014.

The Candidate running in this year's election is Dennis Ramlow of Lincoln. The election is for representation of Prairie Creek, Orvil, Sherdian, West Lincoln, Corwin and Broadwell townships. 

County Committee members are an important component of the operations of FSA and provide a link between the agricultural community and USDA. Farmers and ranchers elected to County Committees help deliver FSA programs at the local level, applying their knowledge and judgment to make decisions on commodity price support programs; conservation programs; incentive indemnity and disaster programs for some commodities; emergency programs and eligibility. FSA committees operate within official regulations designed to carry out federal laws.

To be an eligible voter, farmers and ranchers must participate or cooperate in an FSA program. A person who is not of legal voting age, but supervises and conducts the farming operations of an entire farm may also be eligible to vote.  

More information on County Committees, such as the new 2013 fact sheet and brochures, can be found on the FSA website at www.fsa.usda.gov/elections or at a local USDA Service Center.