News: Callison elected Hennepin County Board chair

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.



Jan. 6, 2015

Commissioner Jan Callison, board chair, 612-348-7881
Carolyn Marinan, public affairs, 612-348-5969

News release

Callison elected Hennepin County Board chair

Commissioner Jan Callison, 6th District, was unanimously elected chair of the seven-member Hennepin County Board of Commissioners today (Jan. 6) at the board’s organizational meeting for 2015. She is the first new board chair in almost two decades.

“I look forward to the challenges of being chair of the board and the opportunities it brings,” said Commissioner Callison.  “I am honored to be chosen by my colleagues to lead the board in 2015. I also want to acknowledge the achievements of Commissioner Mike Opat and thank him for his leadership during the past six years.”

“The county plays a critical role in responding to the needs of both residents and businesses,” said Commissioner Callison. “I look forward to continued collaboration with my colleagues, staff and other partners as we work to provide county services efficiently and cost-effectively as well as position Hennepin County for the future.”

Callison has served on the board since 2009. Her district includes Deephaven, northern Eden Prairie, Edina, Excelsior, Greenwood, Hopkins, Long Lake, Minnetonka, Minnetonka Beach, northern Mound, Orono, Shorewood, Spring Park, Tonka Bay, Wayzata, and Woodland. She would be the second women to serve as chair. 

The board also elected Commissioner Linda Higgins, 2nd District to serve as vice chair of the board. Her district includes the cities of Golden Valley, Medicine Lake, southeast Plymouth, St. Anthony and north and northeast Minneapolis, including the North Loop and Bryn Mawr neighborhoods. Commissioner Higgins has served on the board since 2013. This is the first time that the board chair and vice chair have both been women. 

The board also established board committees and selected committee chairs:

  • Budget and Capital Investment: Commissioner Randy Johnson
  • Public Works, Energy and Environment: Commissioner Mike Opat
  • Health and Human Services: Commissioner Marion Greene
  • Public Safety and Judiciary: Commissioner Jeff Johnson
  • Libraries, Technology and General Government: Commissioner Peter McLaughlin
  • Intergovernmental: Commissioner Linda Higgins 

The board, acting as the Hennepin County Regional Railroad Authority (HCRRA), unanimously re-elected Commissioner Peter McLaughlin, 4th District, as chair and Commissioner Jan Callison, 6th District as vice chair of the HCRRA.

The board usually meets every Tuesday at 1:30 p.m. at the Hennepin County Government Center. You can find a complete schedule, meeting minutes and agendas at 

Board and committee meetings are live-streamed and on demand on the web, broadcast live on Metropolitan Cable Network Channel 6, and re-broadcast on Channel 6 on Fridays at 8 p.m. 

                                                             – 30 –

Look for more news on the Hennepin County website at