ArtsEye August 2013

artseye header

August 2013

August 30, 2013
Deadline for Poet Laureate Nominations

September 3, 2013
IAC Committee on the Future
10:00 a.m. IAC office

September 5, 2013
Programs, Grants & Services Committee
1:30 p.m. IAC office

September 11, 2013
Executive Committee Meeting
10:00 a.m. IAC office

September 20, 2013
Quarterly Business Meeting
9:00 a.m. (CDT) Evansville, IN


Join us on Facebook!

facebook badge august

Singer, Songwriter John Hiatt Among Those to Receive Arts Awards

john hiatt

Indiana-born singer, songwriter John Hiatt is among six recipients of the 2013 Governor's Arts Awards.

Born in Indianapolis, Hiatt is a folk, rock, blues and country guitarist and pianist. He has been nominated for 11 Grammys, received the 2000 Nashville Music Award for Songwriter/Artist of the Year, and received the 2008 Americana Music Association's Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting.

"It is a great honor to be among this year's recipients of the Governor's Arts Awards," Hiatt said. "I am proud to have started my musical career in Indiana and am thankful that the Indiana Arts Commission recognizes the importance of endorsing the arts."

The other 2013 award recipients include: director/actor/producer Sydney Pollack, music educator Cynthia Hartshorn, philanthropist Christel DeHaan, Bloomington Mayor Mark Kruzan, and Traditional Arts Indiana.

The 2013 Governor's Arts Awards will be held September 26 in Carmel. Award ceremony tickets are $20 for adults and $10 for students, and full evening packages start at $90 per person and include dinner and program. For more information, and to reserve tickets, please visit:

State Poet Laureate Nomination Deadline Extended

The deadline for nominations for the next Indiana State Poet Laureate has been extended to 4:30 (EDT) August 30, 2013

Nomination should be limited to one, single-page cover letter and resume or CV detailing the nominee's qualifications and accomplishments. Successful nominees must be a current resident of Indiana and remain residents during their two-year term of service. Nominees should be published poets, with experience in educational program development.

For more information about the Poet Laureate Program, visit:

Nominations should be sent to the attention of Lewis C. Ricci: